z – Developmental Milestones OLD

IMG_4214Child development refers to the continual process of change that occurs as children become older and are able to do more complex things. Developmental milestone lists help parents and physicians gauge whether the changes that come with age are being met at an acceptable pace and become a guide in monitoring a child’s progress in areas like social, emotional, language and cognitive development. While every child meets these stages differently, normally developing children will generally reach standard milestones within a certain period of time. If a child has fallen behind in a specific area of development or in several different areas, it is recommended to alert the child’s doctor immediately.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a U.S. public health agency, has developed a list of typical milestones* most children reach up to age 5. Click on the links below to download printable fact sheets from the CDC.

2 Months
4 Months
6 Months
9 Months
1 Year
1 ½ Years
2 Years
3 Years
4 Years
5 Years

*All children develop at their own pace. The actual age of when a child reaches a milestone may vary from person to person. Please also note that this list is not comprehensive. The milestones listed here will give you a general idea and should be used as a guide. Any concerns should be directed to your child’s doctor.